Alexander Tcherepnin [1899 – 1977] : Suite For Solo Cello [reblog]

from Oannes *
🎧 click on the image to see original post and listen…

Η οικογένεια του γεννημένου στην Πετρούπολη Alexander Tcherepnin εγκατέλειψε τη Ρωσία μετά την Οκτωβριανή Επανάσταση για να εγκατασταθεί στο Παρίσι, όπου ο νεαρός συνθέτης ολοκλήρωσε τις σπουδές του.
Το δημιουργικό του έργο περιλαμβάνει κυρίως μουσική για πιάνο αλλά και άφθονη μουσική δωματίου, 4 συμφωνίες και τηλεοπτικά soundtracks.
Ακούμε την Σουίτα του για Σόλο Βιολοντσέλο από τον Yo-Yo Ma.

The family of Petersburg-born Alexander Tcherepnin, left Russia after the October Revolution to settle in Paris, where the young composer completed his studies.
His vast creative work includes mainly piano music but also plenty of chamber music, 4 symphonies and tv soundtracks.
We hear his Suite For Solo Cello performed by Yo-Yo Ma.


As always, I’m happy to hear your thoughts, however I’d highly recommend a direct dialogue with the …’source’ [why comments are closed here], so please visit Oannes’ page where you can also listen to the music !

More about these reblogs

* For my friends who didn’t know, or first timers here, Oannes [aka Socratis Papahatzis] is my husband, partner in life and music and the one with my undying admiration. Together we have a band MK-O [the music of Marina Kanavaki & Oannes]. So, it’s my pleasure to share with you his [and sometimes mine] musical selections. • Do visit his site. He has my highest recommendation!