Igor Stravinsky B-Day, Podcast : The Firebird / Petroushka / The Rake’s Progress etc [reblog]

Oannes brilliant podcast / tribute to Igor Stravinsky!

🎧 click on the image to see original post and listen…

Σαν σήμερα, 17 Ιουνίου 1882, στο Λομονόσοφ της Ρωσίας γεννήθηκε ο Ίγκορ Στραβίνσκυ, ένας απο τους μεγαλύτερους, για κάποιους ο μεγαλύτερος συνθέτης του 20ου αιώνα. Όπως με κάθε παρόμοια περίπτωση, το να προσπαθήσεις να περικλείσεις την προσφορά του σε λίγες γραμμές, είναι εξ ίσου άτοπο με το να δώσεις ένα αντιπροσωπευτικό δείγμα της, σε 45 λεπτά της ώρας…
Εν πάση περιπτώσει, δεν θέλησα να εστιάσω στα γνωστότερα έργα, αν και δεν μπορούσα να αποφύγω κάποια από τα επαναστατικά μπαλέτα του, Πετρούσκα στην πιανιστική βερσιόν [Πολίνι] και Πουλί της Φωτιάς. Η τρίτη από τις περιόδους του [“ρωσική”, “νεοκλασική”, “σειραϊκή – ο άνθρωπός μας περίμενε να …πεθάνει ο Σένμπεργκ, με τον οποίο είχε προσωπική κόντρα, για να καταπιαστεί με το δωδεκάφθογγο…] απουσιάζει εντελώς.
Έτσι κι αλλιώς ο Στραβίνσκυ ανήκει στους καλλιτέχνες στους οποίους σταθερά επανέρχεσαι.

On this date, June 17, 1882,Igor Stravinsky, one of the greatest composers [some say the greatest] of the 20th century, was born in Lomonosov, Russia. As with any similar case, trying to describe his offer in a few lines is just as inept as trying to make a “representative” sample of his art in 45 minutes…
I did not want to focus on his best known works, but I could not avoid two of his revolutionary ballets, Petrushka in the pianistic version [Pollini] and The Firebird. The last of his three creative periods [“Russian”, “neoclassical”, “serial” – the man waited until the death of Schoenberg, with whom he had a personal conflict, in order to start using the twelve-tone technique…] is completely absent from the podcast.
Anyway, Stravinsky is one of the artists to whom you steadily come back.


On the podcast
00:00 Petroushka – The Shrovetide Fair
08:28 Capriccio For Piano & Orchestra – 3. Allegro Capriccioso Ma Tempo Guisto
13:56 The Rake’s Progress [opera] – “No Word From Tom” (Anne)
22:23 Concerto In D, “Basel Concerto” – 2. Arioso
25:04 Concerto In D, “Basel Concerto” – 3. Rondo
28:25 Dances Concertantes – Pas De Deux
33:51 The Firebird – Infernal Dance
38:13 The Firebird – Lullaby
41:36 The Firebird – Final Hymn



Stay Safe!

4 replies »

      • I’ve taught the Rite in depth to A level students, poring over every note. Trust me, it doesn’t lose its awe and power in doing so! Stravinsky was an absolute genius! For me, the opening bars of part II to the Rite are some of the most hauntingly beautiful sounds in the whole repertoire of music!

        • Oh, “hauntingly beautiful” … I couldn’t agree more! …and yes, I can imagine it wouldn’t lose its awe and power… however many times you teach it!

Happy to hear your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.