Giuseppe Torelli : Concerto op. 8 / Sonata G. 5 [reblog]

from Oannes *

🎧 click on the image to see original post and listen…

Ο σημαντικός Ιταλός μπαρόκ συνθέτης Τζουζέπε Τορέλι [1658-1709] είναι από τους εφευρέτες της φόρμας του κονσέρτου – για την ακρίβεια το πρώτο από τα δυο έργα που ακούμε, Concerto op. 8, είναι η πρώτη εμφάνιση της φόρμας του κονσέρτου γκρόσο, που υιοθέτησαν στη συνέχεια συνθέτες όπως οι Κορέλι, Χέντελ. Το ακούμε από τους Hutchins Consort.
Το δεύτερο έργο είναι η Σονάτα G. 5 για τρομπέτα. Από τους European Soloists, διεύθυνση Nicol Matt. Τρομπέτα ο Thomas Hammes.

The significant Italian baroque composer Giuseppe Torelli [1658-1709] is one of the inventors of the concert form – in fact the first of the two works we hear, Concerto op. 8 is the first appearance of the concerto grosso, adopted by composers such as Corelli and Handel. We hear it from Hutchins Consort.
The second work we hear is Sonata G. 5 for Trumpet. By European Soloists, cond. by Nicol Matt. Thomas Hammes on trumpet.


CONCERTO No 8: 0:00 Grave 0:15 Vivace 2:33 Largo 4:44 Vivace
: 6:14 Adagio 6:52 Allegro e staccato 8:10 Adagio 8:39 Allegro


As always, I’m happy to hear your thoughts, however I’d highly recommend a direct dialogue with the …’source’ [why comments are closed here], so please visit Oannes’ page where you can also listen to the music!

More about these reblogs

* For my friends who didn’t know, or first timers here, Oannes [aka Socratis Papahatzis] is my husband, partner in life and music and the one with my undying admiration. Together we have a band MK-O [the music of Marina Kanavaki & Oannes]. So, it’s my pleasure to share with you his [and sometimes mine] musical selections. • Do visit his site. He has my highest recommendation!

1 reply »