Einojuhani Rautavaara [1928-2016] – Cantus Arcticus, concerto for birds and orchestra [reblog]

from Oannes blog…

…for the Winter Solstice

Συναρπαστικό ορχηστρικό έργο του Einojuhani Rautavaara. Ξεκινώντας από νεοκλασικιστικές αναζητήσεις, ο Φιλανδός συνθέτης θα πειραματιστεί στη συνέχεια με το δωδεκάφθογγο, για να περάσει τελικά σε ένα είδος νεορομαντικής τεχνοτροπίας μυστικιστικών αποχρώσεων – σ’ αυτήν ανήκει το έργο που ακούμε. Ο Mikko Franck διευθύνει την Φιλαρμονική Ορχήστρα του Radio France

Fascinating orchestral work by Einojuhani Rautavaara. Starting with neo-classical explorations, the Finnish composer will then experiment with the twelve-tone system, to finally end up with a kind of neo-romantic style of mystical hues – this work we are hearing belongs to that era. Mikko Franck directs the Radio France Philharmonic Orchestra.

It felt perfect, to my ears, for this, last for this decade, Winter Solstice.

More about these reblogs

Lately I have been rebloging music videos from Oannes new blog. For my friends who didn’t know, or wonder why…. Oannes [aka Socratis Papahatzis] is my husband, partner in life and music and the one with my undying admiration. Together we have a band MK-O [the music of Marina Kanavaki & Oannes]. So, it’s my pleasure to share with you his [and mine] musical selections. Although here I reblog mainly his musical selections, he writes exceptional articles on various topics [some may need translation], so do visit his site. He has my highest recommendation!

Happy to hear your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.