Johann Sebastian Bach B-Day Tribute! [reblog]

A brilliant tribute by Oannes!

from Oannes blog…
🎧 click on the image to see original post and listen…

Σαν σήμερα, 31 Μαρτίου 1685,  στο ‘Αιζεναχ, γεννήθηκε ο Γιόχαν Σεμπάστιαν Μπαχ, ο μεγαλύτερος συνθέτης όλων των εποχών. Στο έργο του σημειώνεται η αποκορύφωση του μπαρόκ ως είδους, ενώ, σύγχρονοί του συνθέτες, με επικεφαλής τους γιούς του, οδηγούν ήδη τη μουσική σε νεωτερικά μονοπάτια, περισσότερο μελωδικά, λιγότερο δαιδαλώδη. Ο Μπαχ, αγέρωχα ασυμβίβαστος με τις “επιταγές του καιρού”, θα ακολουθήσει δικό του δρόμο, παράγοντας ένα έργο που στέκεται πάνω από εποχές, κατηγοριοποιήσεις …και συγκρίσεις. Ακούμε τον Glenn Gould στην Toccata in C minor, BWV 911. Στη συνέχεια ο Hugh Banton, οργανίστας των Van Der Graaf Generator, στο θέμα και τις δυο πρώτες παραλλαγές Goldberg, εκτελεσμένα σε ηλεκτρονικό εκκλησιαστικό όργανο κατασκευασμένο από τον ίδιο [το “άλλο του επάγγελμα”…]. Η Ann Sophie Von Otter τραγουδά την άρια Sehet Jesus hat die Hand Chorus Wohin’, από τα Κατά Ματθαίον Πάθη. Οι I Musici στο τελευταίο μέρος [Menuetto, Trio 1, Pollaca, Trio 2] από το Βραδεμβούργιο Κονσέρτο Νο 1 και τέλος, ο Anton Webern, ο μεγάλος συνθέτης / μαθητής του Schoenberg ενορχηστρώνει, κάνοντας ελαφρώς …ανησυχητικό το Ricercar a 6, εξάφωνη φούγκα από την “Μουσική Προσφορά”.


On this date, March 31, 1685, Johann Sebastian Bach, the greatest composer of all times, was born in Eisenach. His work is the culmination of the Baroque genre, in a time where his contemporary composers lead  music to new paths, less complex and more melodic. Bach, imperiously incompatible with the trends, would follow his own path, producing a work that stands beyond eras, categorizations … and comparisons. We listen to Glenn Gould on Toccata in C minor, BWV 911. Then Hugh Banton, keyboardist of  Van Der Graaf Generator on the Aria and the first two Goldberg Variations, performed on an electronic church organ made by himself [that’s his “other” profession]. Ann Sophie Von Otter is on the aria Sehet Jesus hat die Chorus Wohin’, from St. Matthew Passion. I Musici perform the last part [Menuetto, Trio 1, Pollaca, Trio 2] from Brandenburg Concerto No 1. And finally, Anton Webern, the great composer / Schoenbeg’s advocate, orchestrates Ricercar a 6, a six-voice fugue from Musical Offering, making it sound slightly …worrying.

Stay Safe!🏡

More about these reblogs

Lately I have been rebloging music videos from Oannes new blog. For my friends who didn’t know, or wonder why…. Oannes [aka Socratis Papahatzis] is my husband, partner in life and music and the one with my undying admiration. Together we have a band MK-O [the music of Marina Kanavaki & Oannes]. So, it’s my pleasure to share with you his [and mine] musical selections. Although here I reblog mainly his musical selections, he writes exceptional articles on various topics [some may need translation], so do visit his site. He has my highest recommendation!

4 replies »

  1. Hahaha! My eyes fooled me. I thought I read John Sebastion…you know from the 60’s band The Lovin Spoonful.
    I got all excited… OH Bach! LOL heading to Oannes to listen to Bach!

Happy to hear your thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.