Mussorgsky : Khovantchina, Pictures At An Exhibition [reblog]

from Oannes *

🎧 click on the image to see original post and listen…

Στο κλαμπ του Μάρτη και ο “επαναστάτης” της Ρωσικής Μουσικής Σχολής Modest Mussorgsky [1839-1881], από δυο έργα του οποίου ακούμε αποσπάσματα : το “Ταξίδι του Γκολίτσιν” [00:00], ιντερλούδιο από την όπερα Khovantchina, και τα δύο τελευταία μέρη από την ορχηστική βερσιόν του Pictures At An Exhibition : The Hut On Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga) [04:08] και The Great Gate Of Kiev [07:46].
Ο Evgeni Svetlanov διευθύνει την USSR Symphony Orchestra.
Για περισσότερη μουσική του Mussorgsky στο blog : [1], [2]

Another member of the March born club is the “rebel” of Russian Music School, Modest Mussorgsky [1839-1881], from two works of whom we hear excerpts : “Golitsin’s Journey” [00:00], an interlude from the opera Khovantchina, and the last two parts from the orchestral version of Pictures At An Exhibition : The Hut On Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga) [04:08] and The Great Gate Of Kiev [07:46].
Evgeni Svetlanov conducts the USSR Symphony Orchestra.
For more Mussorgsky’s music on the blog : [1], [2]


As always, I’m happy to hear your thoughts, however I’d highly recommend a direct dialogue with the …’source’ [why comments are closed here], so please visit Oannes’ page where you can also listen to the music!

More about these reblogs

* For my friends who didn’t know, or first timers here, Oannes [aka Socratis Papahatzis] is my husband, partner in life and music and the one with my undying admiration. Together we have a band MK-O [the music of Marina Kanavaki & Oannes]. So, it’s my pleasure to share with you his [and sometimes mine] musical selections. • Do visit his site. He has my highest recommendation!